Bangin’ Good Shrimp

No, I did not come up with that name. This recipe, and all ensuing credit, is due to Gina Homolka, author and creator of Skinnytaste. Her cookbook, which will be featured here regularly if tonight is any sign of future recipes, is AMAZING and comes highly recommended.

Five years ago, I went to Bonefish Grill in Schaumberg, IL. Before I went, my dad told me that I HAD to try Bang Bang Shrimp. He was right. This appetizer quickly turned into my entree. I couldn’t stop eating the addictively crunchy, spicy, sweet, tangy little shrimp nuggets. For years, those shrimp have stuck in my head. I couldn’t figure out what made them so irresistible, so saucy yet still crunchy, the balance of spice and sweet.

This morning, I was reading through my new Christmas present, the Skinnytaste cookbook, and I stumbled across Bangin’ Good Shrimp. The name quickly stuck in my head- it was too eerily similar to the Bang Bang Shrimp I once knew not to be related. When I read through it, I was hesitant; it didn’t seem like it could really be this simple. It was. This quick (I mean, 10 minutes total time quick) recipe is one I am definitely coming back too. It is all of the things I loved about Bang Bang Shrimp for a fraction of the price, time, and effort. Bon appetit!


Bangin’ Good Shrimp

Gluten Free, Quick Meal- 4 servings

Calories per Serving: 215 for 2/3 cup of shrimp and 1 cup of salad or rice


Ingredients:

  • Sauce:
    • 5 Tablespoons light mayo
    • 3 Tablespoons Thai sweet chili sauce (surprisingly easy to find- even Hyvee had a store brand in the Asian food aisle)
    • 1-2 Teaspoons Sriracha (to taste- this is the sneaky heat. I don’t like a lot of spice and 2tsps was good)
  • Shrimp:
    • 1lb peeled, deveined shrimp
    • 2-3 Teaspoons of cornstarch
    • 1 Teaspoon veggie or canola oil
  • Salad or Rice for side as desired (don’t worry about dressing the salad; this makes a lot of sauce)

Steps:

  1. In a medium-large bowl, mix all the sauce ingredients together
  2. In a separate bowl, toss the shrimp with the cornstarch
  3. Heat a high sided pan on high heat
  4. Once the pan is hot, add the oil and shrimp. Saute 3 minutes or until shrimp are cooked.
  5. Immediately add shrimp to sauce and combine
  6. Serve and enjoy. This is seriously addictive. Be prepared to finish it all
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

