Mom’s Recipes: Stuffed Pepper Soup

With all these cool, wintery nights, I have been on a soup kick lately. It also helps that I can throw it together, and let it sit while I work out without needing to be attended to as well. Last night was one of those nights. All I wanted to do was relax with a blanket, watch some Iowa State basketball, and enjoy a warm meal. I’ll be frank when I say that I was not super optimistic about the recipe featured here- but I was proven wrong. For those who know me pretty well, you know that I have this weird thing against warm, chunky tomatoes. It doesn’t matter if these tomatoes are in pizza sauce, pasta, or anything else; there is just something wholly unappealing about warm chunks of tomatoes to me. This is the foundation for my reservations. When my mom passed this soup recipe to me, I was very hesitant about the 40oz of warm tomato pieces which would be a significant part of it. Happily, I have to say that I didn’t even notice the warm tomato bits. Everything cooked together so nicely, it just all blended to one complete piece.

This soup makes an excellent leftover as well. One of my mom’s notes on the recipe was about how the soup gets better with time. I have to agree. The soup was good last night, but today in my lunch for work it was even better. That’s why I am promoting this one on the blog tonight. If you are anything like me, there are some nights where cooking at home just seems unrealistic. This soup is a great one to make ahead and have in the fridge to reheat the night you want to serve it. Based on the ingredients, I think it would make a great freezer option too. Simple ingredients, simple preparation, and one-pot cooking definitely place this on my short list of go to recipes. And if you have to have a cast-iron enamel pot, known in my apartment as the magic pot, I highly encourage the use of it. It really helps everything come together.

Thank you for the recommendation, mom. For about the one zillionth time, you were right!


Stuffed Pepper Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1lb ground beef
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 14oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1 28oz can petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • Rice or pasta (cooked according to package separately and served with soup)

Steps:

  1. Brown the ground beef in your soup pot. Season with salt.
  2. Prep all your veggies.
  3. Add the garlic, onion, and both peppers to the browned beef and saute for 5 minutes
  4. Add the tomato sauce, petite tomatoes, and chicken stock. Season again with salt and pepper.
  5. Stir to combine, cover, and simmer on med-low for 30 minutes (or more).
  6. Serve over rice or pasta
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

