Dabbling in Asian: Beef and Broccoli

I was feeling ambitious when I menu planned this week. I’ve been telling myself to expand my comfort zone, try something new each week. I love Chinese take-out. It’s probably my favorite carry-out cuisine to get. It’s probably the salt and the fact that it’s all fried that make it such a favorite of mine. This week, I decided to try Skinnytaste’s Mongolian Beef. It was good, don’t doubt that, but it wasn’t what I expected. See, growing up, Mongolian Beef was equivalent with the following House of Emperor specialty. It was saucy, spicy, mostly beef, a few springs of green onion, and those crunchy, white noodle things I can never remember the name of. Mainly, the spice factor was always what separated this from all the other dishes on our takeout menu. Couple a scoop of this with shrimp in garlic sauce and a crab rangoon, and you have my childhood in a takeout dish.

Naturally, when I made this, I expected spice. There is no spice in this dish. I expected saucy. This doesn’t make a ton of sauce. Actually, I would recommend doubling the liquid in all stages of this recipe for just that reason. All this accounted for, it was really good. It was just more of a beef and broccoli, not Mongolian beef for me. I would definitely make it again. I just know where to “spice it up” a bit more now.


Skinnytaste’s Mongolian Beef

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp. cornstarcH
  • 3 tbsp. plus 2 tsp. reduced-sodium soy sauce, divided
  • 2 tsp. rice wine
  • 4 tsp. sesame oil, divided
  • 1 lb. sirloin steak, trimmed of fat, thinly sliced against the grain
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 4 c. broccoli florets

  • 4 medium green onions, cut into 1-in. pieces; white and greens separated

  • 1 tbsp. minced garlic

  • 1/2 tsp. minced fresh ginger

  • 2 tbsp. packed dark brown sugar

  • 1 tbsp. oyster sauce (In Asian food aisle near Thai chili sauce or soy sauce)

  • Rice noodles

Steps:

  1. In a shallow glass container, whisk together the cornstarch, 2 teaspoons soy sauce, rice wine and 1 teaspoon sesame oil. Season steak with salt, add to marinade and turn to coat. Let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes.
  2. Bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil. Add broccoli and cook until bright green and crisp-tender, about 1 minute. Drain and run under cold water to stop the cooking.
  3. Heat a large nonstick wok or skillet over high heat. Add 1 teaspoon sesame oil, then half of the beef. Cook for 30 seconds without disturbing, flip and cook another 30 seconds, moving meat around until browned on all sides. Transfer to a plate and repeat with 1 teaspoon sesame oil and remaining beef. Set aside beef.
  4. Heat remaining 1 teaspoon sesame oil in wok/skillet and add the whites of the onions, the garlic, and ginger. Cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add broccoli, brown sugar, remaining 3 tablespoons soy sauce and the oyster sauce. Cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add beef and cook, stirring, 30 more seconds. Remove from heat and stir in the green part of the onions.
  5. Serve with noodles or rice

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

