Copycat! Santa Fe Chicken is Chicken Enchilada Soup in Disguise!

**DISCLAIMER** this was still a tasty dinner!

One of the foundations for my new year’s resolution was that I wanted to cook 365 recipes in 365 days. My goal was that each would be special and different from one another. I still am keeping on that. Although, at the end of last week I found a recipe which was just too similar to another to really stand out. Some of you may remember my post about Slow-Cooker Chicken Enchilada Soup.  That soup was pretty fabulous. When I went back to my Skinnytaste Cookbook, I saw the recipe for Santa Fe Chicken. It looked SUPER easy (it was) and sounded tasty (also true). But unfortunately, what I discovered was that it was just a slightly less liquid version of Chicken Enchilada Soup. Are they both delicious? Yes. Can I count them as two different recipes? I think not. Regardless, I am passing it along because Santa Fe Chicken does cut down the prep work and amount of dishes slightly (and who doesn’t love that). It is one of the top recipes on Skinnytaste, and if you like smoky, Mexican, pulled chicken, this slow cooker meal will be an instant hit.


Slow Cooker Santa Fe Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 24 oz (1 1/2) lbs chicken breast
  • 14.4 oz can diced tomatoes with mild green chilies
  • 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 8 oz frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 14.4 oz can fat-free chicken broth
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (to taste)
  • salt to taste

Steps:

  1. Combine chicken broth, beans (drained), corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, cayenne pepper and salt in the crock pot. Season chicken breast with salt and lay on top.
  2. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours. Half an hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. Adjust salt and seasoning to taste. Serve over rice or tortillas and your favorite toppings.
Leave a Reply

