Taste of the Globe: Mexico

I love simple dinners, and when those simple meals can be made in 10 minutes or LESS, I really love them. Last night was one of those nights where I didn’t really feel like cooking- I didn’t really feel like doing anything! The three-day week at school has been possibly more tiresome than a full week would have been, and I was ready for the magic dinner fairy to deliver a Chipotle burrito to me- stat. When I menu planned for this past week, I focused in on quick, simple dinners for just this reason. I’ve taught enough years now to know that conferences week (which is always the week after state) is just draining. This meal is hearty yet also light. It is a cinch to make and is a one-pot meal. The longest part of it is cooking rice if you choose to go that route. In a time pinch, forgo the rice and just enjoy the taco as is.

If you’re one of those people who thinks cilantro tastes like soap, stop reading now. This meal features a ton of it. I personally love the fresh flavor, and in my Chipotle craving mode last night, I needed something to fill the void which reminded me of cilantro-lime rice.


Cilantro-Lime Shrimp

Ingredients:

  • 1lb peeled, deveined, raw shrimp
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon of cumin- it really depends on your preference. I like smoky flavors so I lean towards 1/2
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Olive oil
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Juice of 2 small limes (or one large one)
  • 3-4 tablespoon fresh cilantro

That’s the base of your meal. Serve with rice as a taco. I did both last night. I topped my taco with sour cream, mixed greens, and some cucumber I had left over which made a great cool crunch. Top as you see fit, though!

Steps:

  1. Season the shrimp with cumin and salt
  2. Preheat the oil over medium-high heat
  3. Sautee the shrimp for a minute or two on each side. Add the garlic for 30 seconds
  4. Remove from heat, stir in the lime juice and the cilantro and serve. Enjoy 🙂
Leave a Reply

