Take-Out at Home: Thai Basil Chicken

We all have that one take-out place where we just can’t get enough of that one item. We can go there once a week and order the same thing over and over and over. Well, Thai food is that for many of my friends. It is the balance of fresh flavors, spice, salt, and sour all blended in simple dishes that make it hard to resist.

I have been looking to expand my Asian repertoire. I have a decent recipe for lettuce wraps, and my Bang Bang Shrimp definitely have an Asian flair. I tried Beef and Broccoli, but I wanted something cleaner and faster. When I was searching the web last Saturday for recipe inspiration, I found Gina’s Skinnytaste list of most popular recipes for 2016. This simple recipe claims to take 20 minutes with fresh flavors and only 20 minutes from start to finish including prep! I decided to use three of the top five to inspire my menu this week and to use up some of those pantry basics that go into Asian cooking.

This was delicious. Prep took 10 minutes, cooking took 10 minutes. This was also a one pot meal with 2 other prep dishes. If you are looking for a fast, friendly, budget-friendly weeknight meal, this is for you!

A few notes: This recipe has the potential to have some KICK. It calls for a serrano pepper (which I had never used before). The original recipe called for a whole pepper, seeded and diced. She recommended from there to add the seeds if you wanted REAL spice. I was still hesitant. I used half of a pepper, seeded and rinsed before mincing. It was definitely still spicy. This got me to about the “I can feel the spice but the burn isn’t killing- it just makes me want to keep eating.” Also note- I am not a huge spice person. In fact, my spice tolerance is very low. This is what I used and I still felt spice.

Check it out- this meal was addictive. We served it with rice and it cleaned out the entire side and entree plates.


Thai Basil Chicken

Ingredients:

 

  • 1 1/4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced into thin strips
  • 2 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 2 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 serrano chile, seeded and minced **I ONLY USED A, HALF-PLENTY OF SPICE**
  • 2 teaspoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 3 cups fresh Thai or regular basil leaves

Steps:

  1. Marinate the chicken in oyster sauce and soy sauce for at least 10 minutes.
  2. Heat a large, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the oil, garlic, and chile. Saute for 30 seconds.
  3. Increase the heat to high and cook chicken for 4 minutes, or until cooked through.
  4. Add the basil and cook until wilted. Serve immediately over rice.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

