Sweet n’ Spicy Asian Glazed Chicken

I admit it. I was back on the Asian kick last night. This was for two distinct reasons. First, I am moving over the summer, so one of my operative goals is to eliminate food from the pantry and fridge before moving, without having to restock. The other is that I had plain chicken in the fridge, no idea what to do with it, and when I found this recipe, I had most of the ingredients and could fudge the rest.

Thus you have Asian Glazed Chicken.

My little tweaks were basically regarding sauce and cooking method. The recipe originally called for soy sauce (which I am currently out of). I subbed in Hoisin sauce (which I started using last week) and it was fine. It also expected you to grill this chicken, preferably chicken legs on the bone. I had boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and I live in an apartment. Grilling is not going to happen. I used my cassoulet to cook the breasts with the sticky sauce. I just let it cook a little longer to develop the caramelization desired and to be sure the chicken was cooked.

The chicken came out moist and flavorful. If you like the flavors of orange chicken or sweet and sauce sauce, try out this marinade and sauce. The combo is really well balanced and becomes a very sticky coating even without the skin on the chicken.


Sweet N’ Spicy Asian Chicken

Ingredients

  • 2lbs Chicken (bone in or not, white meat or dark, it all works)
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (I didn’t have any, but Hoisin has this flavor built in already)
  • 4 tbsp Hoisin sauce
  • 4 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1-2 tsp Sriracha
  • 3 tbsp sweet red chili sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 – 2 tsp Sriracha

Steps

  1. Combine chicken, garlic, salt, ginger, Hoisin, apple cider vinegar, and first Sriracha together in a Ziploc bag. Massage into meat and let marinate. I sat for 30 minutes and it was super flavorful, but the original recipe said it could sit up to overnight.
  2. Heat a skillet or grill over medium high heat
  3. Remove chicken from marinade, and begin to cook. Cook at least 7 minutes (depending on thickness of chicken)
  4. While side 1 cooks, assemble the remaining ingredients in a small bowl.
  5. When you flip the chicken, pour sauce over. Stir any sauce into bottom of pan. Continue cooking and flipping as needed. Make sure to flip back at least one time to ensure all parts of chicken are coated
  6. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

